SRI is accredited by the IATF, was the first registrar to be QS-9000 qualified, and it was one of the first to be ISO/TS 16949 qualified. SRI and its founder Dr. Peter B. Lake have long played a leadership role in Quality Management Systems and the automotive sector. As a member and past Chair of the Independent Association of Accredited Registrars (IAAR) and a representative of the IAAR on the International Automotive Sector Group (IASG), SRI is at the forefront of development and acceptance of standards worldwide.

SRI doesn’t just audit to the standards, we know the standards and the industry inside and out. To get a quote from SRI, click on Get a Quote and Request a Proposal. We can get a detailed cost proposal to you as quickly as you need it.

IATF 16949:2016

In October 2016, the IATF published IATF 16949:2016. It will supersede and replace the current ISO/TS 16949. It will be aligned with and refer to ISO 9001:2015. On October 1, 2016, the IATF released Revision 1 of its IATF 16949 Transition Strategy document and Revision 2 on November 21, 2016. The IATF has specified all criteria related to the transition.  The entire document is available at:

The ISO/TS (Technical Specification) 16949:2009

ISO/TS 16949:2009 is an international Quality Management Systems automotive “sector-specific” technical specification based on ISO 9001:2008.

The ISO/TS 16949 was jointly developed by the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) members and the ISO/TC 176 committees of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) for approval and publication.

This document, plus the individual OEM customer-specific requirements, defines the quality system requirements for use in the automotive supply chain to which the suppliers must be registered to be “recognized” by the IATF.

Third Party Registrars

The IATF has developed its own unique and proprietary registration process and requirements for organization registration. It also conducts its own qualifying of registrars and registrar auditors. The registration scheme includes common rules for consistent global registration processes.

ISO/TS 16949:2009

ISO/TS16949:2009 was approved and issued in July 2009 as an automotive sector-specific Quality Management System set of requirements that uses the updated ISO 9001:2008 (verbatim) as its base. It replaced ISO/TS 16949:2002 based on ISO 9001:2000.

As an international specification:

  • Anyone can acquire a copy of this International Technical Specification, TS 16949, through ANSI or other locations such as
  • Anyone can acquire a copy of the “Rules” for achieving IATF recognition.
  • Anyone can utilize this document to improve their Quality Management Systems.
  • It is an international specification to which any organization that meets the applicability rules (noted below) can be certified by a third party certification body/registrar.

Satisfying Your Automotive Customer

Subscribing automotive OEM companies will only recognize and accept a TS 16949 registration which has been conducted using the prescribed registration process (“rules” available from the IAOB) and conducted by third party registrars that have been selected by the IAOB/IATF.

Registration to TS 16949 by an IATF “selected” registrar is required before a certificate can show the IATF mark and indicate IATF recognition.


The IATF has asked all registrars to assure that TS 16949 registrants meet the following applicability requirements:

  • The TS 16949 definition of supplier applicability must apply to the organization seeking registration (see 3.1.6 in TS 16949)
  • Any tier may be registered if it has a direct customer in the automotive supply chain (most affected are Tier 1 and Tier 2 suppliers). Distributors cannot be registered to TS 16949
  • Evidence of being a potential supplier to a customer requiring TS 16949 could include a Request For Quotation issued to the organization or the organization being on a current bid list of the TS 16949 subscribing customer

Fifth Edition Rules

In addition to the IATF 16949:2016 technical standard, the IATF established a governing document called “Rules for Achieving and Maintaining IATF Recognition.” The 5th Edition “Rules” were published November 1, 2016 and took effect on January 1, 2017, and include criteria for the registrar, registrar audit process, auditor qualification, certification requirements, and expectations for the registering organization. The “Rules” mandate a two-stage process for registration.

Stage 1, the “Readiness Review,” is conducted on-site for a minimum of one or two days. Its single purpose is to determine whether an organization may proceed to a Stage 2 registration audit. The Stage 1 audit is required even if the organization has elected to undergo a Pre-Assessment Audit. Furthermore, each value-added site must be independently assessed for readiness. Stage 2 is the full registration audit, and it must take place within 90 days of the Stage 1 visit. If it is not feasible to proceed with the Stage 2 audit within that 90-day period, a second Stage 1 audit must be conducted.

Important Rule Changes

Some of the important “Rules” changes:

  • The Pre-Assessment auditors cannot perform the registration audits
  • Pre-Assessment on-site time is limited to 80% of Stage 2 on-site time
  • Corporate quoting schemes are permitted for manufacturing/value added sites only. Corporate refers to the quoting scheme only. Each value added site must have a separate report and separate certificate issued
  • Sampling of sites is not permitted
  • For each subsequent recertification and surveillance cycle, different auditors must be used
  • Corrective action responses must be in Seven- or Eight-Discipline method, depending on the customer
  • For Major (Hold) corrective actions, the client must determine root cause and implement correction within 20 days from the end of the site audit and an on-site Special audit for verification is required
  • Surveillance events must be of equal duration
  • Renewal Audit must occur within 3 years of the previous initial or re-registration (renewal) event and well before the certificate expiry date to prevent a certification lapse (that would require a full registration re-assessment)
  • The certificate must be issued within 120 days of the last day on site at the initial or renewal event
  • A TS 16949 organization is expected to refer to the new fifth edition “Rules” and its many changes and clarifications.

If You Do Not Qualify for TS 16949 Third Party Registration

Those organizations and suppliers that do not qualify for IATF-recognized registration to TS 16949, or that supply parts and services to a TS 16949 registered organization, are encouraged (in some cases required) to maintain ISO 9001:2008 registration.


A quotation for registration to ISO/TS 16949:2009 can be provided by contacting SRI at 724-934-9000 or by clicking on Get a Quote above, and Request a Proposal. The SRI Sales Team looks forward to discussing your needs, and we can have a quote to you in as little as two hours.


Supplier training courses relative to ISO/TS 16949:2009 application and certification are available from SRI Public Training Courses. The most effective sources for public training have often shown to be the registrar that knows and has observed the TS criteria applied in a practical manner.

Register, Renew or Transfer to SRI & begin seeing the value immediately